<   >

Timm Thaler
Original Filmmusik aus der gleichnamigen TV-Serie

DIG014 LP (limited gatefold edition)

release date, Germany: 8th of November  2004

Timm Thaler is one of the most successful German TV-Series productions of the ZDF (Second Channel of German Television). It is still very well known and admired today: Timm Thaler, the boy who sells his laughter. 25 years after the series first screened on TV, we now present the soundtrack by German composer genius Christian Bruhn for the first time on CD plus 4 previously unreleased bonus tracks. The TV series Timm Thaler is also known as The Legend Of Tim Tyler.

The series
The story of the series, directed by Sigi Rothemund, is based on the homonymous book by James Kruess, which has been adapted for TV by Justus Pfaue. The 13 episodes have been shot in the German city Hamburg and on the Spanish island Lanzarote. The cast, curly head Thomas Ohrner as the boy, who sells his laughter and Horst Frank as the diabolic Baron Lefuet.

The music/the composer
The music of composer Christian Bruhn is a highlight of the series. Bruhn merges contemporary music drifts of the ends seventies like Prog-Rock a la Pink Floyd, Disco and Jazz-Rock with his typical Keyboard-Sound, which also made his German Captain Future soundtrack legendary. Memories awake when hearing the melancholic title theme (Timm’s Thema) and one feels the threat again, going out from Horst Frank, listening to Aravanadi – Der Baron.

Bruhn in one of Germany’s most successful and most changeable composers. On the one hand he composes famous Schlager hits, on the other hand he scores for trick animation series such as Catptain Future and Alice in Wonderland.

In the recording studio Christian Bruhn is being accompanied by well-known musicians:
Kristian Schultze / Keyboard (Klaus Doldinger’s Passport, Udo Lindenberg, Giorgio Moroder)
Curt Cress / Drums (Klaus Doldinger’s Passport, Falco, Freddie Mercury)
Günther Gebauer / Bass (Donna Summer, Boney M., Udo Jürgens)
Sigi Schwab / Guitar (TV-Series Anna, Vampyros Lesbos)
Frank Diez / Guitar (Peter Maffay)
The CD and limited gatefold vinyl come along with lots of rare photos and behind-the-scenes material. Composer Christian Bruhn wrote an exclusive preface and both CD and vinyl include 4 bonus tracks.